15 September 2011

Whitmore Press Manuscript Prize 2011: Shortlist announced

Last night, the Whitmore Press Manuscript prize announced the shortlist for the prize (publication of a limited edition chapbook in early 2012).

Shortlisted poets are:
  • B. R. Dionysius
  • Paula Green
  • Dominique Hecq
  • Jill Jones
  • Jo Langdon
  • Laura Jean McKay
  • Eddie Paterson
  • Nathan Shepherdson
  • Lucy Todd
  • Corey Wakeling
The winner, whose work will be published in a limited edition chapbook in early 2012, will be announced before the end of September.

Whitmore Press, in an email announcement to entrants, said 116 entries in this year's competition had been received, and that the entries were "of a very high standard".

North of the Latte Line thinks this high standard might be due to the prize's novel approach to submissions, asking entrants to submit not an entire manuscript, but a poem or poems toatalling up to 150 lines, from that manuscript, and also asking entrants to be sure they had the entire manuscript ready for publication within a tight time-frame after the prize award announcement.

Three recent Whitmore Press publications – by Jamie King-Holden, David McCooey and Cameron Lowe – were featured ABC Radio National's Poetica, 3 September [2011] during National Poetry Week: http://www.abc.net.au/rn/poetica/stories/2011/3286639.htm

No comments:

Is the system being gamed, and "Does Australia Need an ICAC for Poetry?"

Does Australia Need an ICAC for Poetry?  David Musgrave's article in Southerly is not new, but it's worth reading if you missed it....