14 October 2007

News wrap re Booker; CBC books of the year; ABC's First Tuesday book club ...

More writerly news from Liz Winfield's October newsletter:


The shortlist for the 2007 Man Booker Prize for fiction has been announced as follows:
  • Darkmans by Nicola Barker ($55.00 hardcover)
  • The Reluctant Fundamentalist by Mohsin Hamid ($29.95)
  • The Gathering by Anne Enright ($32.95)
  • Mister Pip by Lloyd Jones ($29.95)
  • On Chesil Beach by Ian McEwan ($29.95)
  • Animal’s People by Indra Sinha ($32.95)


  • • Older Readers: Red Spikes by Margo Lanagan ($17.95)
  • • Younger Readers: Being Bee by Catherine Bateson ($16.95)
  • • Picture Book: The Arrival by Shaun Tan ($39.95)
  • • Early Childhood: Amy & Louis by Libby Gleeson (24.99)

ABC TV’s First Tuesday Book Club News and Events

Newsletter - Get updates on what's new on the First Tuesday Book Club on ABC TV. Subscribe at: http://www.abc.net.au/tv/firsttuesday/s2018583.htm
Also, there’re a lot of features you may not realise are on this site, their archived book section is impressive and include the following headings: Overview, Summary/Excerpt, Transcript, & Author Profile.
This month’s features are East of Time by Jacob G. Rosenberg (you may have heard a wonderful interview with him on ABC Radio National’s Book Show after the book won a biography award) and Moby Dick by Herman Melville (this was David Malouf’s choice, the panel was so excited when talking about this book that I’m really going to read it!), the program will be repeated on Sunday at 4.30pm. - Liz
From http://www.abc.net.au/tv/firsttuesday/
David Malouf, Alexis Wright and Chris Masters are among winners at the 2007 Queensland Premier's Literary Awards.
Premier Peter Beattie announced Alexis Wright as the winner of the $25,000 Fiction Book Award for Carpentaria. Ian Commins has won the 2007 Emerging Queensland Author Manuscript Award for Life in the Bus Lane. The David Unaipon Award for an Unpublished Indigenous Writer went to Elizabeth Eileen Hodgson for Skin Paintings. The Arts Queensland Steele Rudd Award went to Every Move You Make by upcoming First Tuesday Book Club panellist David Malouf. Winner of the Non Fiction Book Award was Slicing the Silence: Voyaging to Antarctica by Professor Tom Griffiths with Chris Masters taking out The Harry Williams Award for a Work Advancing Public Debate for his unauthorised biography of Alan Jones, Jonestown.

No comments:

Is the system being gamed, and "Does Australia Need an ICAC for Poetry?"

Does Australia Need an ICAC for Poetry?  David Musgrave's article in Southerly is not new, but it's worth reading if you missed it....