16 August 2003

Poetry of Ancient China

Mark 28 September in your diary. That's when the translations of Tang dynasty poetry. "Singing of Scented Grass" will be launched.
Place: Moorilla Museum of Antiquities 655 Main Rd, Berriedale
Time: 2.00 p.m.
The collection will be launched by John Unicomb, who read from the translations at the performance of these poems during the first Ten Days on the Island festival in 2001. The translations are by retired neuro surgeon, Ian Johnston, who now lives on Bruny Island. The book features beautiful brush paintings in the Chan style to complement the Buddhist flavour of the poems. For readers of Chinese, the text of many of the poems is included.
"Singing of Scented Grass: Verses from the Chinese" is published by Pardalote Press. Everyone is welcome to celebrate the launch of this very special collection.

No comments: